Friday, February 7, 2014

The Ravellenic Winter Games 2014

Do y'all know what happens tonight?
Yes, of course...the Opening Ceremonies for the 2014 Winter Olympics...but Do You Know What ELSE Happens Tonight?

The Opening Ceremonies for...

The Ravellenic Winter Games 2014

I'm a 'Raveler' and I'm really proud to have participated in every single 'Game' since it's inception. 

We used to call it Ravelympics but the Official Olympic Games legal team sent us a cease and desist letter because of that name.  ??? I know, right ??? I gave you a handy little link in that sentence so you can read more about that if you like. 

What exactly is Ravellenics?

It's basically the biggest Knit-a-Long, Crochet-a-Long, Weave-a-Long, Spin-a-Long, Loom-a-Long etc. ever organized...and it happens every 2 years along with the Olympic Games.  We set project goals for ourselves and enjoy each others online company while cheering on our Olympic Athletes from afar.

From Ravelry:
Challenge yourself by starting and finishing one or more projects during the 2014 Winter Olympics.
What will be a stretch for you? It could be a new technique, that first sweater or pair of socks, something massive, something delicate, or maybe finishing that monster in the closet.
The goal of the Ravellenic Games is to support you in expanding your knitting/crocheting horizons.

We have A Lot of  Fun .. 

There are tons of Events, Teams, Parades, Medals, a Warming Hut, an Information Booth...special Pins are available. 
Some Teams offer Prizes but the real fun is in the camaraderie.  We cheer each other on and there is constant encouragement to achieve your goals. We get down-right silly!

It's a BLAST!

Come on over to Ravelry and learn more about what's going on. 

There is still plenty of time! You can start any time during the Games...

The Mass Cast-On will take place during the Opening Ceremonies. (that's today/tonight) When the Olympic Games kick off in Sochi (20:00 Moscow Time Zone, UTC+4:00)
..that’ll be your start time, whatever time that is in your timezone. Quick reference: 20:00 MSK = 16:00 GMT = 11:00 am EST = 8:00 am PST
..Official End time: 23:59 Moscow Time Sunday, February 23  
Ravelry has over 2 million members from all over the world and literally thousands will be 'casting on' during the Opening Ceremonies today/tonight.

It's exciting to be part of something so huge and so positive!

Here's a LINK to Ravelry